Distinguished Alumni Awards

  • The Lake Park Educational Foundation annually honors distinguished alumni through its Spirit of Excellence – Distinguished Alumni Award.  Nominees for this award must have graduated from Lake Park High School at least 10 years ago and must have attended the school for at least two years.  Distinguished alumni are men and women who have made outstanding contributions in endeavors such as education, science, business, humanitarianism, literature, religion, and public service.  
    To nominate an alumni, please complete the DARP Nomination form.  Nominations for the 2018 Spirit of Excellence awards are due by November 30, 2017.
    The three Lake Park Distinguished Alumni who received the 2017 Spirit of Excellence Award:
    SOE 2017 DARP  

    - Sam Bettis (Class of 1996) - Mr. Bettis serves as Director of Laboratory Operations at Tempus, a technology company that is building the world's largest library of molecular and clinical data in oncology and an operating system to make that data accessible and useful. Prior to joining Tempus, for 10 years Mr. Bettis was Technical Director of the Cellular Screening Center at The University of Chicago, a high-throughput screening center focused on early drug and target discovery. Before returning to Chicago, Mr. Bettis worked in early drug discovery units at Millennium and Novartis Oncology in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Mr. Bettis has received a Bachelor of Science in Molecular and Integrative Physiology from the University of Illinois and holds a Master of Science in Biology from Saint Louis University.  

    - Brian Kalish (Class of 2004) - Dr. Kalish is a current Research and Clinical Fellow in neonatal-perinatal medicine at Harvard Medical School. Prior to his fellowship, Dr. Kalish was a Resident in Pediatrics at Boston Children's Hospital.  Dr. Kalish received his Bachelor of Arts in Public Health Studies from John Hopkins University and his Doctorate of Medicine from Harvard Medical School where he graduated magna cum laude.  Dr. Kalish has published many articles in medical journals and has presented at conferences.

    - Joseph Sterbis (Class of 1995) - Dr. Sterbis is the Program Director for the Urology Residency at Tripler Army Medical Center in Honolulu, Hawaii.  As Program Director, he is responsible for the six-year urology residency; training urologic surgeons for service in the U.S. Army. Dr. Sterbis is also the Chief of Urology at the facility, responsible for a service of 11 urologists and the support staff.  Dr. Sterbis is an Associate Professor of Surgery and trains medical students from the Uniformed Services University of Health Science.  Dr. Sterbis has written numbers publications and provided presentations on varied topics of urologic research.  Dr. Sterbis received a Bachelor of Arts in Evolutionary Biology and a Doctorate of Medicine from Northwestern University Medical School.

    Past Distinguished Alumni recipients